var _gaq = _gaq || []; _gaq.push(['_setAccount', 'UA-21462253-7']); _gaq.push(['_trackPageview']); (function() { var ga = document.createElement('script'); ga.type = 'text/javascript'; ga.async = true; ga.src = ('https:' == document.location.protocol ? 'https://ssl' : 'http://www') + '.google-analytics.com/ga.js'; var s = document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(ga, s); })();


College of Science and Mathematics

Enhancing lives through learning, discovery and innovation

Website Update

Student Councils, Clubs, & Groups

College of Science and Mathematics

College of Science and Math Ambassadors

COSAM Ambassadors are the links between the college, its faculty and students, alumni, parents, industry and the local community. Ambassadors volunteer for the organization because they enjoy sharing the amazing Learn by Doing opportunities that take place in the college with current and prospective students, alumni, parents, college supporters and community members by giving tours and participating in both college and university-wide events.

Staff Email Phone
General Contact cosam-ambassadors@calpoly.edu  
President: Kara Thompson kthomp36@calpoly.edu 702-557-5895
Advisor: Dean Wendt rmlau@calpoly.edu 805-756-2226

CSM Student Council

The College of Science and Mathematics Council provides a line of communication between students and student organizations in the college and its faculty.

Staff Email Phone
General Contact cpcosamcouncil@gmail.com  
President: Jenna Landy jlandy@calpoly.edu 831-588-6073
Advisor: Dean Wendt dwendt@calpoly.edu 805-756-2226

Women in Science Society

Women in Science Society is a club focused on building a community among women pursuing a career in STEM through social, professional, and academic events, as well as connecting members with opportunities for career experience and extracurriculars both on and off campus.

Staff Email Phone
General Contact wsscalpolypresident@gmail.com  
President: Rita Ventura rnventur@calpoly.edu 650-691-3675
Advisor: Alexis Pasulka apasulka@calpoly.edu 805-756-5399

Revel Magazine

We are an online women's STEM magazine uniting journalism, business, and STEM majors. We create a space for women in STEM to be celebrated as well as developing content that focus on research and innovations that specifically impact women.

Staff Email Phone
General Contact contact@revelweekly.com  
President: Megan Melnyk mmelnyk@calpoly.edu  
Advisor: Sandi Clement slclemen@calpoly.edu  

Cal Poly One Health Club

One Health Club focuses on learning about the integration of human, environmental, and animal health. One health is an up and coming interdisciplinary field, join our club to learn more about it and get involved in the community!

Staff Email Phone
General Contact cponehealthclub@gmail.com  
President: Emeline McMann-Chapman emcmannc@calpoly.edu 510-846-8003
Advisor: Heather Harris DVM hsharris@calpoly.edu  

Biological Sciences Department

American Medical Student Association

We see opportunities to reshape medicine as future physicians. Our vision is a world where health care is accessible, medicine is affordable and systems support the diversity we see around us. We’re the next generation of physicians, leaders and change agents. Seventy years strong, with roughly 30,000 active members all across the globe, AMSA is a student-led, national association that exists to cultivate, inspire and inform medical students. We do this by offering students what many medical schools don’t provide: the vital skills needed to lead and listen; and a safe place to explore, reflect and become the kind of physician who thinks beyond drugs and diagnoses. The kind of physician who makes a difference. The kind of physician you want to become.

Staff Email Phone
General Contact calpolyamsa@calpoly.edu  
President: Emily Morejon emorejon@calpoly.edu 818-568-5560
Advisor: Meghan Farrier-Nolan mfarrier@calpoly.edu, 805-756-2615 (COSAM Advising Office #)

American Medical Women's Association

An organization that brings women together who wish to pursue a career in the health-care industry.

Staff Email Phone
General Contact calpolyamwa@gmail.com  
President: Kyra Laubach knlaubac@calpoly.edu 949-395-5492
Advisor: Kristi Weddige kweddige@calpoly.edu 805-756-2192

American Society of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

We are the Cal Poly branch of the national club that was founded in 1906. ASBMB is focused on research, teaching, outreach, and promoting diversity. We are a great place for those looking to be involved in undergrad research and looking to get involved in their local community here in SLO.

Staff Email Phone
General Contact afrauenp@calpoly.edu  
President: Andrew Frauenpreis afrauenp@calpoly.edu 951-551-6440
Advisor: Steven Wilkinson spwilkin@calpoly.edu  

Beta Beta Beta

Staff Email Phone
General Contact cptribeta@gmail.com  
President: Leah Van Otterloo lvanotte@calpoly.edu 714-504-9489
Advisor: Alejandra Yep yep@calpoly.edu 805-756-5355

Biotechnology Club

The Biotechnology Club educates members about the wide application of biotechnology in industrial, medical, and agricultural fields. Club activities consist mostly of listening to guest speakers from the biotechnology industry and getting hands-on experience by touring their facilities. Club members are also involved in the Biology Department tutoring that is under the direction of Tri-Beta. Throughout the school year, the club organizes trips to biotechnology companies. Past tours include Microbiology Lab at French Hospital, Baileyana Winery, MedImmune, Promega, and Santa Cruz Biotechnology. Future tours include Genentech, Baxter, and Central Coast Pathology.

Staff Email Phone
General Contact calpolybiotech@gmail.com  
President: Allie Malmberg afmalmbe@calpoly.edu 209-404-4104
Advisor: Marie Yeung pmyeung@calpoly.edu 805-756-5199

Genetic Counseling Student Interest Group

A resource group for students who are interested in learning about genetic counseling.

Staff Email Phone
General Contact: Lauren Hsuan lhsuan@calpoly.edu 310-954-7804
Advisor: Anya Bergman abergman@calpoly.edu 805-756-2615

Marine Sciences

The Marine Sciences Club aims to unite people across all disciplines who have a passion for all fields of marine sciences.

Staff Email Phone
General Contact calpolymarinesciencesclub@gmail.com  
President: Nate Devey ndevey@calpoly.edu 510-207-6763
Advisor: Crow White cwhite31@calpoly.edu 805-756-2954

Neuroscience Undergraduate Society

Cal Poly's Neuroscience Undergraduate Society is a place where students may grow their interests in the neurosciences through participation in various club events. We hope to facilitate the learning process with club events that are both exciting and thought-provoking.

Staff Email Phone
General Contact calpolyneuro@gmail.com  
President: Emma Gonzales egonz124@calpoly.edu 916-792-4846
Advisor: Laura Freberg lfreberg@calpoly.edu  

Plant Science Club

Staff Email Phone
General Contact plantscience@calpoly.edu  
President: Molly Vanderlip movander@calpoly.edu 650-793-1326
Advisor: Matt Ritter mritter@calpoly.edu 805-756-2775

Pre-Dental Society

Our purpose of this organization is to provide a source of information to educate and prepare students about the field of dentistry and various aspects of the dental profession.

Staff Email Phone
General Contact predental@calpoly.edu  
President: Ariana Faron apfaron@calpoly.edu 650-450-6464
Advisor: Candace Winstead cwinstea@calpoly.edu 805-756-2899

Wildlife Club

Wildlife club brings together all animal and nature loving people with fun socials, live animals, backpacking trips, and hikes. We also are a pre-professional club who works to connect anyone who is interested in working in the wildlife field with opportunities to get experience and network.

Staff Email Phone
General Contact calpolyslowildlifeclub@gmail.com  
President: Ryan Vosbigian rvosbigi@calpoly.edu  
Advisor: John Perrine jperrine@calpoly.edu 805-756-2368

Chemistry and Biochemistry Department

Alpha Chi Sigma - AXE

Alpha Chi Sigma brothers are passionate about the chemical sciences, but we are of all majors. As a group we are extremely involved within the College of Math and Science at Cal Poly: Many of our members are undergraduate researchers, study session or workshop leaders, and tutors.

Staff Email Phone
General Contact ma@axecalpoly.com  
President: William Ramos wiramos@calpoly.edu 626-421-4655
Advisor: Philip Costanzo pcostanz@calpoly.edu 805-756-2692

American Chemical Society

The American Chemical Society is a place for students who love chemistry to come together and to connect with the Chemistry and Biochemistry Department along with the general SLO community. The club aims to provide members with the support and resources to become successful chemists in the modern world.

Staff Email Phone
General Contact saacs.calpoly@gmail.com  
President: Karly Knox kdknox@calpoly.edu 713-253-3742
Advisor: Dr. David Zigler & Dr. Shanju Zhang dzigler@calapoly.edu szhang05@calpoly.edu 805-756-2661 805-756-2591 (respectively)

Pharmacy Club

We aim to connect students who are interested in learning more about the field of pharmacology, creating a social network of students who can support each other to reach their goals. It is a way to get involved on campus, to give back to our community, and gain hands-on experience in a pharmacy.

Staff Email Phone
General Contact pharmacyclub@calpoly.edu  
President: Spencer Hayashi sbhayash@calpoly.edu 503-914-8423
Advisor: Hasan Palandoken hpalando@calpoly.edu 805-756-1591

Kinesiology and Public Health Department

Kinesiology Club

The Kinesiology Club is run by the Kinesiology and Public Health Student Council. We hope to connect all Kinesiology and Public Health students and faculty and we strive to provide students and faculty with both fun and informational events that will enrich their time at Cal Poly.

Staff Email Phone
General Contact cpkinescouncil@gmail.com  
President: Moriah Clarke mjclarke@calpoly.edu 760-405-7106
Advisor: Stefanee Maurice somauric@calpoly.edu 805-756-2541

Nursing / PA Club

We are a club for pre-Nursing and pre-PA students to learn more about the both professions, listen to guest speakers, such as current nurses, PAs and doctors, as well as admission directors from various schools, and how prepare for applying to schools. If you're still unsure about who we are, please join us at our first meeting! We understand that many students may be in between the two professions, and we are here to provide any additional guidance in addition to all the other supplemental activities we have planned.

Staff Email Phone
General Contact calpolynursing.paclub@gmail.com  
President: Kellen Huffman kthuffma@calpoly.edu  
Advisor: Camille O'Bryant cobryant@calpoly.edu 805-756-1787

Physical Therapy & Occupational Therapy

Staff Email Phone
General Contact pt-otclub@calpoly.edu  
President: Giovanni Carmassi gcarmass@calpoly.edu  
Advisor: Robert Clark rdclark@calpoly.edu 805-756-0285

PolyFit Organization

PolyFit is a student-run organization whose members are passionate about health care. PolyFit provides both students and community members with assessments to measure personal health and strength. Our main purpose at PolyFit is to encourage healthy lifestyles and personal health awareness. As students interested in health care, we aim to promote healthy lifestyle choices and to increase self-awareness of the risks for cardiovascular disease, diabetes and other detrimental chronic diseases associated with sedentary lifestyles. Our student staff is specially trained to deliver these tests in a confidential manner.

Staff Email Phone
General Contact polyfit.officers@gmail.com  
Presidents:  Jacob Young jyoung59@calpoly.edu 650-526-8885
Advisor: Cory Greever greever@calpoly.edu  

Public Health Club

The Public Health Club is sponsored by the Department of Kinesiology and Public Health. The overarching goal of the Public Health Club is to bring students, staff and faculty with an interest in public health, healthy lifestyles, or community health together.

Staff Email Phone
General Contact cppublichealth@calpoly.edu  
President: Rebeca Almeida rsaliba@calpoly.edu 650-701-5971
Advisor: Julia Alber jmalber@calpoly.edu 650-701-5971

Liberal Studies Department

Student California Teacher's Association

SCTA is a professional organization for college students in California who are pursuing careers in education.

Staff Email Phone
General Contact cpscta@calpoly.edu  
President: Piper Ransome pransome@calpoly.edu 209-663-3134
Advisor: Lola Berber-Jimenez lberberj@calpoly.edu 805-756-0292

Mathematics Department

Association for Women in Mathematics

A society that aims to support women and minorities in mathematics and to influence the culture of mathematics as a whole. AWM focuses on creating a community within the mathematics department that is dedicated to equality, inclusivity, and supporting its members.

Staff Email Phone
General Contact womeninmath@calpoly.edu  
President: Sidra Knox seknox@calpoly.edu 909-255-2450
Advisor: Linda Patton lpatton@calpoly.edu 805-756-1680

Math Club

Math Club brings people together for social events throughout the year, as well as great opportunities to get involved in the math department. We're open to math majors, math minors, and anyone else interested in having fun!

Staff Email Phone
General Contact cpmathclub@gmail.com  
President: Laura Bialozynski lbialozy@calpoly.edu 414-499-7208
Advisor: Jonathan Shapiro jshapiro@calpoly.edu 805-756-1675

Physics Department

Astronomical Society

CPAS hosts a fun environment to learn about the wonders of our universe.

Staff Email Phone
General Contact tatianamgibson@gmail.com  
President: Emily Gavrilenko egavrile@calpoly.edu  
Advisor: Louise Edwards ledwar04@calpoly.edu  

Minorities in Physics

The purpose of the Minorities in Physics Club is to act as a resource and provide a space for physics students to engage in discussion of issues regarding diversity and inclusivity such that their collective voice is represented and they become empowered in their ability to thrive in academia.

Staff Email Phone
President: Xochitl Ryan nxryan@calpoly.edu   
Advisor: Louise Edwards ledwar04@calpoly.edu  

Sigma Pi Sigma (Physics Honor Society)

Sigma Pi Sigma serves to promote professionalism for all physics majors through resume reviews and research showcase events. We serve to honor high achieving physics students and support them in their cause of advancing science

Staff Email Phone
President: Andrew Jarymowycz ajarymow@calpoly.edu  
Advisor: Thomas Gutierrez tdgutier@calpoly.edu 805-756-2455

Society of Physics Students

Society of Physics Students (SPS) at California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo is the local chapter of SPS National. The organization is dedicated to the professional and social experiences and success of the physics student body.

Staff Email Phone
President: Chad Dutra cadutra@calpoly.edu  
Advisor: Thomas Gutierrez tdgutier@calpoly.edu 805-756-2466

Women in Physics

The Women in Physics club at Cal Poly, SLO is a group dedicated to women entering the field of physics. As a club, we are here to provide a network and sense of community for young women at the university as well as participate in networking, outreach, and social club events.

Staff Email Phone
General Contact calpolywip@calpoly.edu  
President: Savannah Silva ssilva22@calpoly.edu  
Advisor: Katharina Gillen kgillen@calpoly.edu 805-756-2199

Statistics Department

Data Science Club

We are Cal Poly's student connection to the growing field of data science through supplementary education, competition, and corporate outreach.

Staff Email Phone
General Contact cpdatascience@gmail.com  
President: Tobias Iven tiven@calpoly.edu 818-268-4153
Advisor: Hunter Glanz hglanz@calpoly.edu 805-756-2792

STAT Club

A social club for stat enthusiasts to talk about stats, get to know internship opportunities, and get to know each other.

Staff Email Phone
General Contact calpolystatclub@gmail.com  
President: Danielle Sisso dsisso@calpoly.edu  
Advisor: Jeffrey Sklar jsklar@calpoly.edu 805-756-6353

 

 

Related Content

Planning for Fall

Learn More Here