var _gaq = _gaq || []; _gaq.push(['_setAccount', 'UA-21462253-7']); _gaq.push(['_trackPageview']); (function() { var ga = document.createElement('script'); ga.type = 'text/javascript'; ga.async = true; ga.src = ('https:' == document.location.protocol ? 'https://ssl' : 'http://www') + ''; var s = document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(ga, s); })();

College of Science and Mathematics

Enhancing lives through learning, discovery and innovation

Website Update

Cal Poly Faculty Honored with Learn by Doing Scholar Award

May 22, 2015

SAN LUIS OBISPO — Two Cal Poly faculty members were named the inaugural Learn by Doing Scholar Award recipients at the More than a Motto Conference on May 15 at a reception at the University Art Gallery.
The new faculty award was established this academic year to acknowledge and inspire formal scholarship and research into Cal Poly’s signature pedagogy. 
J. Kevin Taylor, chair of the Kinesiology Department, was recognized in the published research category for his article “Learning Design through the Lens of Service: A Qualitative Study.” The research was published in the spring 2014 edition of the International Journal for Service Learning in Engineering. The committee also acknowledged the Cal Poly team of co-authors mechanical engineering Professor Brian Self, electrical engineering Professor Lynne Slivovsky, mechanical engineering Professor James Widmann, and former kinesiology Assistant Professor David Hey. The award includes $2,000.
“I am deeply honored by this award, and I thank the committee for its work,” Taylor said. “This award also recognizes my students and faculty colleagues, without whom my work would not have been possible. For me Learn by Doing often involves ‘learn by teaching,’ because I learn so much from my students.”
Steffen Peuker was recognized in the planned and in-progress research category for a proposal highlighting three pedagogical innovations: team-based learning, service learning, and a challenge to students to design their process for becoming a “world-class engineering student.” Peuker is the James L. Bartlett Jr. assistant professor in Cal Poly’s Mechanical Engineering Department. The committee also acknowledged the collaboration of mechanical engineering lecturer Jennifer Mott. The award includes $1,000.
“There are so many colleagues who exemplify outstanding Learn by Doing at Cal Poly,” Peuker said. “I am truly honored to be chosen together with my collaborator, Dr. Mott. Learn by Doing is more than a motto to me. In my opinion, it is the best approach for student learning and success.”
Faculty were selected by a committee of peers from every college.
“The inaugural award committee was impressed to see how Learn by Doing is interpreted in every discipline across Cal Poly,” said Jeanine Scaramozzino, a member of the Learn by Doing Scholar Committee and the College of Science & Mathematics, School of Education, and Data and GIS Services librarian. “Faculty are doing incredible work.”
The award was established and funded by members of Information Services’ external advisory board and administered by the Kennedy Library.
Read more information

Related Content